Executive Committee

The Executive Committee – the Group’s most senior management below the Board level – is responsible for the operational management of the Group within the powers delegated to it.

In the prior year, effective September 1, 2020, Kevin Crofton assumed operational leadership of the Group as CEO. On October 1, 2020, Elisabeth Pataki took office as CFO, responsible for Comet’s financial management. In addition, Keighley Peters became Chief Information Officer (CIO), joining the Executive Committee on December 28, 2020. Departures from the Comet Group were that of CIO Eric Dubuis on January 31, 2021 and Thomas Wenzel, President of the X-Ray Systems division, on April 30, 2021.

No member of the Executive Committee performed any services for Comet Holding AG or any of its subsidiaries before their appointment to the Executive Committee.

As of December 31, 2021, the Group’s Executive Committee had the following five members.

Kevin Crofton

(b. 1961, US & UK citizen) Chief Executive Officer since Sep. 1, 2020 and interim President of X-Ray Systems division


MBA in International Business, American University, Washington, DC, USA; Bachelor’s degree in Aerospace Engineering, Virginia Tech University, VA, USA

Professional experience

2009 to 2020: President/CEO of SPTS Technologies, UK; 2006 to 2009: President and COO of Aviza Technology UK (a precursor to SPTS Technologies); 1994 to 2006: various executive management and divisional leadership positions at Newport Corporation, NEXX Systems and Lam Research Corporation, USA

Elisabeth Pataki

(b. 1981, US citizen) Chief Financial Officer since Oct. 1, 2020


Bachelor of Science degree in Finance and Spanish, Boston College, Mass., USA; Master of Business Administration, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, USA

Professional experience

2015 to 2020: Global Head of Internal Audit, Switzerland, at EF Education First, and before that CFO North America, USA, at EF; 2008 to 2015: various senior management positions at Raytheon Company in USA and Europe, including CFO for NATO Business Line, France, part of a joint venture between Raytheon and Thales Group

Keighley Peters

(b. 1971, UK citizen) Chief Information Officer since Dec. 28, 2020


Master of Sciences in Information Technologies, University of Liverpool, UK

Professional experience

2011 to 2020: Senior Director Global IT, SPTS Technologies, UK; previously CIO in interim functions, IT Services Associate Director, Global IT, Cenduit Ltd and IT Consultant for the pharmaceutical industry as well as in the insurance and IT services sectors

Michael Kammerer

(b. 1961, Swiss citizen) President of Plasma Control Technologies division since Jan. 1, 2008


Eidg. dipl. Einkäufer degree in procurement, SVME; MBA in strategy and procurement management from University of Birmingham, UK

Professional experience

1997 to 2000: head of purchasing and logistics, Von Roll Betec AG, Switzerland; 2000 to 2002: head of purchasing and logistics, Swisscom Solutions AG, Switzerland; 2002 to 2007: head of purchasing and supplier quality assurance, automotive, Saia-Burgess AG, Switzerland/Johnson Electric, Hong Kong

Stephan Haferl

(b. 1972, Swiss and Norwegian citizen) President of X-Ray Modules division since Jan. 1, 2018


Dr. sc. tech. doctorate in mechanical and process engineering from ETH Zurich; Advanced Management Program, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, USA

Professional experience

2002 to 2007: various management positions at the Bartec Group, Switzerland; from 2007: various management positions in Comet’s X-Ray Technology business (VP of Supply Chain, VP of R&D, General Manager of Industrial X-Ray Technologies (IXT))

Activities and interests outside of the Group

Article 27 of the Articles of Association, which is compliant with the OAEC, specifies the allowable number of other external positions that members of the Executive Committee may hold on top management or supervisory bodies as follows:

Some members of the Executive Committee hold board positions at subsidiaries of the Group. In addition, as of December 31, 2021, Kevin Crofton was Vice Chairman of SEMI industry association, Milpitas, CA, USA. Also, Stephan Haferl was a board member of Belimed AG, Zug. The other members of the Executive Committee did not hold positions outside Comet on management or supervisory bodies of significant Swiss or foreign private sector or public sector companies, institutions or foundations at the balance sheet date. Therefore, no member of the Executive Committee of Comet Holding AG exceeded any limits for additional positions.

Management contracts

As of December 31, 2021, Comet had not entered into any management contracts with companies or natural persons not belonging to the Group (prior year: nil).

Disclosure of potential conflicts of interest

No member of the Executive Committee had any material business relationships with Comet Holding AG or any of its subsidiaries in fiscal year 2020 and 2021. In the event of a potential or impending conflict of interest, the Executive Committee member concerned is required to inform the Chair of the Board of Directors immediately.